Eagle Springs was planned and developed to be one of the finest private golf club experiences in the country. Eagle Springs is a very exclusive club with a very limited and select membership. The Club features a Jay Morrish and Tom Weiskopf designed golf course in a setting that will remain free from the distractions of real estate and home site development. Nestled in the heart of the Vail Valley, in Wolcott, Eagle Springs is approximately 18 miles from Vail, 10 miles from Beaver Creek, and 20 miles from the Vail Valley Jet Center. Our entry way Covered Bridge and barn built in 1911, serve as timeless landmarks and stand to welcome arriving members and their guests.

Eagle Springs opened for play in July 1995. Membership is limited to 300 and play is closely monitored to ensure an uncrowded golf course and tee times unnecessary. Only members, associate members, and accompanied guests may play the course. The club enjoys a full, traditional caddie and forecaddie program. While walking is encouraged, golf carts are also available. Membership in the club is by invitation only. A great emphasis is placed on maintaining a healthy balance between the golf and social structure of our membership. Eagle Springs is a special golf club for those who want to be part of something unique in the Vail Valley, and the traditional values of the game of golf.

A Brief History of Eagle Springs

The land now occupied by Eagle Springs was known locally for many years as the Koprivnikar Ranch. The Koprivnikar Ranch and the adjoining private land were originally settled in the 1880's by the Holland and O'Neil families. The property was continually used as a cattle ranch for about 110 years. In 1910, the ranch was acquired by Mateush Koprivnikar, who migrated to the area from Leadville, Colorado. In 1911, Koprivnikar built the barn located along the Eagle River and adjacent to the eighteenth hole of the golf course. The barn was constructed in the popular "drive through" style allowing the rancher to conveniently hitch and load the horse drawn sleighs used for feeding hay to cattle during the winter. Cattle were shipped regularly from the rail yard still partially visible at nearby Wolcott. The ranch was also used during the early years as a way station for stage coach travel between Leadville and Steamboat Springs. The path of the stage coach line can still be seen in the draw above the sixteenth hole on the golf course.

In late winter of 1993, Eagle Springs Golf Club founding members purchased the property from the Estate of Katherine Koprivnikar, the last surviving child of Mateush. Additional early funding for construction activity was provided by 23 Charter Members who joined the Club during the late spring of 1994. The actual construction process began on September 4, 1993. Seeding of the course began on the ninth hole on June 11, 1994. The first round of golf was played by the Board of Directors of the Club on July 3, 1995. The Club opened for member play on July 25, 1995.

Golf Course Design

The golf course was designed by the renowned design duo of Jay Morrish and Tom Weiskopf. The layout wanders through the valley floor, winds up the adjacent hills, across and adjacent to the beautiful Eagle River. The course features large subtly undulating greens that fit superbly into this high desert golf setting.

The course measures 7058 yards from its championship tees, 6531 yards from its regular men's tees and 5049 yards for the ladies. There are also several other rated tee combinations allowing all players to find a yardage suitable to their ability levels. The length and design characteristics easily allow for the course to be walked by those wishing to do so. The golf course is meticulously maintained and managed to ensure a fair and enjoyable experience for all players